The Southern Illinois Medical Association is an organization of physicians and mid-level health care practitioners who live in the southern-most counties of the State of Illinois. SIMA has an extensive history having been formed in 1874 initially encompassing seven counties. For more than a century SIMA members have been from the 29 counties of the southern third of Illinois. As of 2009 we have expanded to represent the southern half of Illinois. The addition of the 31 new counties brings the total to 60 and are listed below. Membership includes an annual meeting providing medical education and promoting comradery for the area physicians. The organization addresses problems that are particular to our area which encompasses urban, suburban, and rural medical practices. SIMA provides scholarships and loans to medical students. We now have this website to keep you informed.

Adams * Alexander # Bond * Brown * Calhoun *
Cass * Champaign * Christian * Clark * Clay
Clinton Coles * Cumberland * Crawford * Douglas *
Edgar* Edwards Effingham * Fayette * Franklin
Gallatin Greene * Hamilton Hardin Jackson #
Jasper * Jefferson Jersey* Johnson # Lawrence
Logan * Macon * Macoupin * Madison Marion
Massac Menard * Monroe Montgomery * Morgan *
Moultrie * Perry # Piatt * Pike * Pope
Pulaski # Randolph Richland Saline Sangamon *
Scott * Shelby * St. Clair Union # Vermilion *
Wabash Washington Wayne White Williamson #

# original 7 counties          * added in 2009